2021-2022 Committees

OIA Chair’s Standing Committee: Ms. Ana Paula Ferreira (Chair), Dr. Boyd Buser (Chair-Elect), Mr. Philippe Sterlingot (Treasurer), Dr. William Burke (Chair)

Purpose: Provide an advisory role to the chair with no decision-making power.  The Chair’s Standing Committee oversees the administrative and financial management of the OIA between Board meetings and to ensure implementation of Board directed decisions.  The Committee will also oversee and manage the relationship between the OIA Board and Secretariat. 

Conference Organizing Committee: Dr. Boyd Buser (Chair),  Dr. Jan Willcox, Dr. Frank Mueller, Dr. Elena Tregubova, Dr. Dmitry Mokhov, Ms. Hanna Tómasdóttir, Ms. Catherine Cabral-Marotta

Purpose: The Conference Organizing Committee coordinates the OIA annual conference and affiliated board meetings, the AGM, and the host conference, together with the Secretariat and member host organization leadership.  The committee will also identify potential member host organizations, oversee the applications and financial pro-formas from interested member organizations, and will work with the member host to produce a successful event. 

Governance Committee: Mr. Maurice Cheng (Chair), Dr. Jan Willcox, Ms. Marie Hariveau, Mr. Antony Nicholas

Purpose: The Governance Committee is responsible for periodically reviewing and recommending updates to the OIA Bylaws, Policies and Procedures Manual, and for ensuring adherence to the organization’s foundational documents.

Membership Committee: Ms. Philippe Sterlingot (Chair), Dr. Boyd Buser, Dr. Jan Willcox, Dr. Frank Mueller, Ms. Hanna Tómasdóttir

Purpose: The Membership Committee identifies potential new members and oversees the application and approval process.  The Committee will also manage the five-year review process of current OIA member organizations and will recommend membership category revision(s) and new member organization nominations to Board as needed.  

Nominations Committee: Dr. William Burke (Chair), Ms. Hanna Tómasdóttir, Dr. Rebecca Giusti, Ms. Nancy Spence, Mr. Charles Hunt

Purpose: The purpose of the Nomination Committee is to manage the processes of identifying potential new board members, nominations, and elections.

Public and Member Relations Committee: Ms. Laura Lee Kamppila (Chair),  Mr. Maurice Cheng, Ms. Nikole Grbin, Ms. Irina Egorova, Mr. Clive Standen, Mr. Jacson Nesi, Dr. Frank Mueller, Ms. Gail Abernethy, Ms. Natalia Rocha, Dr. Ekaterina  Voyevodskaya, Ms. Line Rolvaag

Purpose: The OIA Public and  Member Relations is responsible for providing guidance to staff for initiatives that involve outreach and relations with member organizations and external stakeholders, as it relates to the OIA Website, International Osteopathic Healthcare Week, reporting of research including updates to the Global Report.