2018-2019 Committees

OIA Board Chair’s Standing Committee: Dr. William Burke (Chair), Ms. Ana Paula Ferreira (Chair-Elect), Mr. Charles Hunt (Immediate Past Chair), Dr. Boyd Buser (Treasurer)

Terms of reference: Provide an advisory role to the chair with no decision making power.

Oversee administrative and financial decisions of the OIA in between Board meetings and ensure implementation of Board directed decisions.  Oversee and manage the relationship between the OIA Board and Secretariat.

Conference Organizing Committee: Mr. Antony Nicholas (Chair), Dr. John Gimpel, Mr. Philippe Sterlingot, Dr. Jan Willcox

Terms of reference: The Conference Organizing Committee will develop the annual meeting program including working with local program directors as appropriate.

Identify potential member host organizations, oversee the applications and financial proformas from interested member organizations and work with the successful member host to produce a successful event.  Coordinate the OIA annual conference and affiliated board meetings, the AGM, and the host conference together with the Secretariat and member host organization leadership.

Governance Committee: Mr. Stephen Hartshorn (Chair), Dr. Karen Nichols, Dr. Jan Willcox

Terms of reference: The Governance Committee will consider any bylaws, policy/procedures or structural changes that may be needed as the OIA evolves and matures.

Responsible for periodically reviewing and recommending updates to the OIA Bylaws, Policies and Procedures Manual and for ensuring adherence to the organization’s foundational documents.

Membership Committee: Ms. Ana Paula Ferreira (Chair), Dr. Boyd Buser, Dr. John Gimpel, Dr. Frank Mueller

Terms of reference: The Membership committee will oversee new member applications and approval process, as well as the 5-year membership renewal process.  Recommend membership category revision(s) and new member nominations to the Board as needed.

Identify potential members and oversee the application and approval process.  Recommend membership category revision(s) and new member organization nominations to Board as needed.

Nominations Committee: Dr. Boyd Buser (Chair), Mr. Stephen Hartshorn, Mr. Charles Hunt, Ms. Nancy Spencer

Terms of reference: Oversee yearly Board of Directors nomination process, vetting applicants and reporting the Board.

Vet Board applicants and make recommendations regarding nominees to be put forward; provide advice and consultation on selection of next, potential candidates for Chair-Elect, and oversee Board director nomination and election processes. 

Public and Member Relations Committee:  Dr. Frank Mueller (Chair), Mr. Simon Duncan, Mr. Philippe Sterlingot, Mr. Maurice Cheng, Ms. Marina Fuhrmann, Mr. Clive Standen, Mr. Michael Mulholland, Dr. Jacey Goddard, Ms. Gail Abernathy, Ms. Marina Urquhart-Pullen, Dr. med Johannes Mayer, Ms. Irina Egorova, Dr. Med Armin Geilgens

Terms of reference: The OIA Public and  Member Relations is responsible for providing guidance to staff for initiatives that involve outreach and relations with member organizations and external stakeholders, as it relates to the OIA Website, IOHC Week, reporting of research including updates to the Global Report.

Identify resources and roles for the OIA’s existing, new and potential members, look for opportunities to promote the work of the OIA, and guide member communications and engagement